Chocolate Wrappers Re-Written

Another project of mine on-the-go involving the embroidered typographic appeal of chocolate wrappers. This is a concept I’ve had in mind for some time now but have spent some time considering. Take a look at the following design work: (NB This is best appreciated if you’re familiar with brands available in the UK.)

Image

I plan to translate the above items into embroidery, as you can see here with some preliminary ‘Corporate Chocolate logos’ samples. But this time, I wanted to do something more than a literal visual translation. Take a look at the top 3 – their  play-on-words are intended to talk about my old eating disorder, highlighting the intensely negative associations chocolate bars had to an anorexic. A similar typographic twist can be found here with my re-written cider label. My personal struggle involved a particular terror specifically related to chocolate, so this is a key topic I feel interested in expressing. I still find the logos humorous, however: because if you can’t laugh, what can you do?

Image

Above are the original wrappers I based my puns on. (If you can’t see from the picture, ‘Wispa’ became ‘Careless Whispa’, a rather meaningless nod to the George Michael song.)

Image

And Stitch is underway in the studio!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

