‘Careless Whispa’: Chocolate wrapper re-written

Image

The next stitched-up installment of text-twisting. Apologies for the pretty crappy photo (I was using the other camera, but it’ll do as a snapshot for now.) If you’re familiar with the Cadbury’s chocolate bar ‘Wispa’, and the George Michael song ‘Careless Whisper’, you’ll see what I did here. Yes. (Just don’t expect to find it on my Ipod, because I’ve been on Black Sabbath all afternoon…)

 

Image

From the side-on view, you can see just how much height is achieved by the preliminary padding.

Image

Work in progress. Purple cotton background with padded white PVC applique, on top of which individual letters have been added in several layers of felt. Red metallic passing thread couched down, two strands at a time, to the contours of the shape. Afterwards,each letter was edged in purple couching and the ‘Careless’ logo stitched on in gold filament.

Let me know what you think!

5 comments

  1. Jane S. · · Reply

    I think that’s very cool! One reason being that I’m a..(speaking in a careless whisper here) a big George Michael fan…the other being because I admire your work so much. It’s amazing how much height you can get. 🙂

    1. Jane – I’m glad you liked it, I had the song in my head the entire time I was stitching it!

  2. These re-worked chocolate bar logos are terrific. Beautifully made and thought provoking too.
    Best wishes
    Valerie

  3. LOVE IT BUT WISPA IS NOT SPELT WITH A H

    1. None of these are spelt ‘properly’…. ‘whisper’ (as in, ‘Careless whisper’) has a H!

Leave a Reply

