Yorkie chocolate bar embroidery

The next in the sequence: Chocolate giant Nestle’s ‘Yorkie’ bar. Incidentally, this was the first pun I thought up that went on to inspire the eating-disorder series. I found the original sketch tucked away in a file where it has lain hidden for a year or so, waiting for the right time to receive its embroidered realisation.

yorkiewrapper

The usual embroidery techniques: a padded background providing a raised effect, couched and appliqued over with PVC shapes and metallic thread. A particular challenge of this piece was the small white lettering beneath the main logo: at only a centimetre high, the process of padding a ‘skeleton’ and overlaying with tiny appliqued pieces of fabric proved especially fiddly. (All of these pieces are at original size of a standard wrapper. I think the use of the same scale helps strengthen the link between the original object and my re-written version: to have enlarged the design would be to have sacrified some of that ‘sense of reality’.)

yorkie1

I’m still not overly in love with this piece. I’m regretting not integrating some of the subtle orange shading visible on the letters of the original wrapper, defining each letter with a more angular appearance instead of my more rounded approach. The dilemna was whether adding such definition would over-complicate the working process (‘shading in’ areas with dense couching would have involved a lot of incredibly accurate stitches, which several layers of felt and string try their best not to accomodate. I broke needles as it was with just the yellow couching stitches I have securing the gold passing thread, let alone working further detail over them.) I’d also have preferred a slightly ‘yellower’ tone of gold. What do you think?

frame

Finally, a sneak peak into my working methods. I work at a roller frame, balanced between two trestle tables: not only does the frame provide vital tension, but this way allows me both hands free to work the embroidery. After several mishaps involving accidentally knocking the trestles and sending the frame flying, I’ve now taken to using plastic cable-ties to hold the frame in place. No wobbling or escaping!

2 comments

  1. Lovely work, cute idea too. I think because your work IS 3D you naturally capture the blocky 3D lines. Particularly looking closely at the I. The light falls on it so the shading gives those lines which are drawn on the original lettering. Love your fix for working.
    Finally, I think if you had tried to Orange the top, it probably would have looked ‘overworked’ if you light from below, you should get the same effect.

    1. queenkaren – thankyou for your feedback! I have the habit of looking back at them and thinking ‘hmmm, I could just change that…..’ Thankfully, once they’re ‘done’, that’s pretty much it without taking the whole lot out and starting from scratch again so I have to live with my initial choices.

Leave a Reply

